2015 Acura TLX 3

2015 Acura TLX: Safety and Security Personified

2015 Acura TLX 2

Acura continues their safety reputation with their new TLX, earning the highest possible marks with both the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) and the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety.  A 5 star rating from the government’s New Car Assessment Program and IIHS’s Top Safety Pick honors are forthcoming as well.

The 2015 Acura TLX is one of three new midsize, luxury automobiles to receive such accolades.

The 2015 TLX is the first Acura equipped with AcuraWatch contributing to its overall safety.  Millimeter wave radar and a monocular windshield camera enhance the depth of the vehicle’s sensing capabilities with AcuraWatch.  This allows the TLX to correctly respond to an unexpected person, child, car or barrier on the road.

Technology of this kind provides greater safety for both driver and passenger.

2015 Acura TLX 3

Core Values

“The TLX exemplifies how advanced safety performance is an inherent part of how Acura delivers luxury,” said Michael Accavitti, Acura Division’s Senior Vice President and General Manager, Acura Division.

AcuraWatch, although prevalent on the TLX now, will be available on all their models in 2016.

“Safety is a core value of the brand and all 2016 Acura models are expected to earn top safety scores,” Accavitti said.

2015 Acura TLX 5

Safety Inside

The TLX also employs Acura’s next-generation Advanced Compatibility Engineering.  In the event of an accident, the force of impact is directed around and away from the occupants.   This couples with front, side and side-curtain airbags to further the level of protection inside.  The TLX stands as one of Acura’s best-selling models and while a number of factors contribute to that, safety features like ACE remain a top reason.

Standard and available features in AcuraWatch:

  • Collision Mitigation Braking System™ (CMBS) with Forward Collision Warning (FCW)
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC) with Low-Speed Follow (LSF)
  • Blind spot information (BSI)
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKAS) with Lane Departure Warning (LDW)
  • Road Departure Mitigation (RDM)
  • Rear Cross Traffic Monitor
  • Multi-View Rear Camera with Dynamic Guidelines

Acura also manufactures three other models earning an NCAP 5-star Overall Vehicle Score:


Photo Credit: Acura
Acura sells five different models though a chain of nearly 300 dealerships.